So I thought I should say something…

Until very recently, this blog was only used to post samples of my book in case anyone was interested in actually buying it   But since the blog address is out there now, and the merely curious may be dropping by, I thought that I should say something.  So, lets start by explaining that it took me over three hours of typing, clicking, re-clicking, copying, pasting, and screaming at the top of my lungs to make the four or five changes to the blog site needed to get it looking the way I wanted it to.  I separated out the ‘Buy Here’ links, added a picture of the cover, and posted my email address.  My 14-year-old daughter could have done all that in 8 minutes, but I’m trying to wean myself away from my cyber-dependence on close family members. Although my husband will always be the go-to guy when it comes to moving things from one place to the other, because I don’t know the difference between a file and a folder, and I don’t want to.

So, that gives you an idea of what my life is like.  I’m a writer who should have been born in the quill and parchment age.  Instead, I have to grapple with things so beyond my comprehension, I sometimes pretend it’s all magic, because that’s easier for me to accept than bits, bytes and motherboards.  But if it weren’t for the cyber-world, my book would never have been published, so let’s call it a blessing, okay?  I assume you’ve read Better Off Without Him, and that’s why you’re here.  Unless you just stumbled in by accident.  In that case, by all means read one of the samples, be completely charmed, then click on one of those links over there and you will be (magically) taken to a place where you can buy my book.  Or not.  You may end up in a virtual coal mine.  As Mike Doonesbury once said, there are still a few bugs in the system.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan A.
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 06:34:04

    Hello Dee, I just happened upon your blog while doing an author listing page for mine (its not up yet, obviously, but soon). Since you posted your book there, I wanted to make sure people could look up your name and find your site easily (as well as all the other authors who posted on my blog). Out of the dozens I’m going through and doing this for tonight, you are the only one I stopped and actually glanced at what the blog said, lol. Perhaps it was fate, because I needed a good chuckle while working these past hours on this one little page. The tricky part being that I must find all the author blogs that posted their books on my site, lol. Not all of them gave up the information. Your complaining about how long it took just to set up your site made me feel better. We can understand each others pain when trying to navigate the cyber world. Know that you are not alone.

    Anyway, I’m going to stop babbling now and go back to work. I wish you the best of luck with your book. Hopefully sometime soon I can read it. Just don’t ask when that would be because my TBR list is something I don’t even contemplate at this point. I just go one book at a time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

